Welcome to the Institute for Electronics and Nanotechnology
at the Georgia Institute of Technology

Micro & Nano-Enabled Electronics Systems

Image of a Rectenna - Click Here to Access Micro and Nano Electronics Research at Georgia Tech

Nanotechnology at Georgia Tech

Click Here to Access Nanotechnology Research at Georgia Tech

Core Facilities and Resources at IEN

Click Here to see the core facilities and resources at IEN

2019-2020 Core Facilities Seed Grant Program : Information and Request for Applications

 

Applications Due October 1st!

The Georgia Tech IEN is an Interdisciplinary Research Institute (IRI) comprised of faculty and students interested in using the most advanced facilities for fabrication, characterization, and cleanroom processes, to facilitate research in micro- and nano-scale materials, devices, and systems. Applications of this research span all disciplines in science and engineering with particular emphasis on biomedicine, electronics, optoelectronics and photonics, and energy applications. As there can be a learning curve associated with initial proof-of-concept development and testing using cleanroom tools, this seed grant program was developed to expedite the initiation of new graduate students and new research projects into productive activity. Successful proposals to this program will identify a new, currently-unfunded research idea that requires core facility access to generate preliminary data necessary to pursue other funding avenues.

Download the full RFP Here

Upcoming Events

News



IEN is home to one of the sixteen sites of the National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (NNCI). The NNCI was initiated by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2015 to provide researchers from academia, industry, and government access to university user facilities with leading-edge fabrication and characterization tools, instrumentation, and expertise within all disciplines of nanoscale science, engineering and technology.

IEN, in partnership with the Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering (JSNN) in Greensboro, NC, created the Southeastern Nanotechnology Infrastructure Corridor (SENIC)providing research and educational resources to students, researchers, and educators in the southeast US and beyond. In addition, IEN serves as the Coordinating Office for the NNCI network.


 

Strategic Contacts

Senior Leadership
Dr. Oliver Brand; Executive Director [oliver.brand@ece.gatech.edu]
Dr. Eric M. Vogel; Deputy Director [eric.vogel@mse.gatech.edu]

Research Areas
Micro & Nano Enabled Electronic Systems
Dr. Eric M. Vogel  [eric.vogel@mse.gatech.edu]

Nanotechnology at Georgia Tech
Dr. Oliver Brand [oliver.brand@ece.gatech.edu]
Dr. David Gottfried [david.gottfried@ien.gatech.edu]

Core Facilities
Fabrication Laboratories
Mr. Gary Spinner [gary.spinner@ien.gatech.edu]

Materials Characterization
Mr. Walter Henderson [walter.henderson@ien.gatech.edu]

Shared User Access
Dr. Paul Joseph [paul.joseph@ien.gatech.edu]

NNCI/SENIC
Dr. David Gottfried [david.gottfried@ien.gatech.edu]

Education Programs
Dr. Quinn Spadola [quinn.spadola@ien.gatech.edu]

Informational Downloads

Download Our Brochures by Clicking on the Images Below