Welcome to the Institute for Electronics and Nanotechnology
at the Georgia Institute of Technology

Micro & Nano-Enabled Electronics Systems

Image of a Rectenna - Click Here to Access Micro and Nano Electronics Research at Georgia Tech

Nanotechnology at Georgia Tech

Click Here to Access Nanotechnology Research at Georgia Tech

Core Facilities and Resources at IEN

Click Here to see the core facilities and resources at IEN

GEORGIA TECH QUANTUM ALLIANCE GUEST LECTURE

 

Designing algorithms for near-term quantum computers

Omar Shehab – IonQ
November 15, 2019 | 11am - 12:00pm | Marcus Nanotechnology Building 1117-1118

Crystal Crown - 
By Tim Chung, Diao Research Group

Abstract: Noisy-intermediate scale quantum (NISQ) computers are currently being built at a number of  places including academia and industry. A NISQ computer, capable of executing first proof-concept and then increasingly expensive quantum algorithms, will pave the way to build fault-tolerant errorcorrected (FTCC) quantum computers. While algorithms designed to practically run on FTCC quantum computers come with rigorously proven advantage over their classical counterparts, the advantage is still not fully clear for the NISQ computers. Nevertheless, strong promises are being made in recent research on NISQ algorithms.

This talk will review the complexity theory aspect of the quantum supremacy experiments. It will also introduce the hybrid quantum computational chemistry algorithms and explore a number of ways to improve it. Similar review will be conducted for the quantum operations research algorithms and quantum machine learning algorithms. The challenges for developing algorithm for the future NISQ quantum computer will also be discussed. Finally, I will also try to comment on how the academia should prepare for the upcoming quantum revolution.

Upcoming Events

News



IEN is home to one of the sixteen sites of the National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (NNCI). The NNCI was initiated by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2015 to provide researchers from academia, industry, and government access to university user facilities with leading-edge fabrication and characterization tools, instrumentation, and expertise within all disciplines of nanoscale science, engineering and technology.

IEN, in partnership with the Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering (JSNN) in Greensboro, NC, created the Southeastern Nanotechnology Infrastructure Corridor (SENIC)providing research and educational resources to students, researchers, and educators in the southeast US and beyond. In addition, IEN serves as the Coordinating Office for the NNCI network.


 

Strategic Contacts

Senior Leadership
Dr. Oliver Brand; Executive Director [oliver.brand@ece.gatech.edu]
Dr. Eric M. Vogel; Deputy Director [eric.vogel@mse.gatech.edu]

Research Areas
Micro & Nano Enabled Electronic Systems
Dr. Eric M. Vogel  [eric.vogel@mse.gatech.edu]

Nanotechnology at Georgia Tech
Dr. Oliver Brand [oliver.brand@ece.gatech.edu]
Dr. David Gottfried [david.gottfried@ien.gatech.edu]

Core Facilities
Fabrication Laboratories
Mr. Gary Spinner [gary.spinner@ien.gatech.edu]

Materials Characterization
Mr. Walter Henderson [walter.henderson@ien.gatech.edu]

Shared User Access
Dr. Paul Joseph [paul.joseph@ien.gatech.edu]

NNCI/SENIC
Dr. David Gottfried [david.gottfried@ien.gatech.edu]

Education Programs
Dr. Quinn Spadola [quinn.spadola@ien.gatech.edu]

Informational Downloads

Download Our Brochures by Clicking on the Images Below