Connect with IEN

Russell Dean Dupuis

Director, Center for Compound Semiconductors; Professor; Steve W. Chaddick Endowed Chair in Electro-Optics

Russell Dupuis

Professor Russell D. Dupuis earned all of his academic degrees from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He received his Bachelor's degree with "Highest Honors-Bronze Tablet" in 1970, his Master's in electrical engineering in 1971, and his Ph.D. degree in 1973. Professor Dupuis’s alma mater has honored him with the University of Illinois Alumni Loyalty Award and the Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Professor Dupuis worked at Texas Instruments from 1973 to 1975, after which he joined Rockwell International where he was the first to demonstrate that MOCVD could be used for the growth of high-quality semiconductor thin films and devices. He joined AT&T Bell Laboratories in 1979, where he extended his work to the growth of InP-InGaAsP by MOCVD. In 1989 Professor Dupuis became a chaired professor at the University of Texas at Austin. In August 2003, he was appointed Steve W. Chaddick Chair in Electro-Optics at Georgia Tech in ECE. He is currently studying the growth of III-V compound semiconductor devices by MOCVD, including materials in the InAlGaN/GaN, InAlGaAsP/GaAs, InAlGaAsSb, and InAlGaAsP/InP systems.

Research Areas of Interest:

  • Semiconductor materials and devices
  • Epitaxial growth by metalorganic chemical vapor deposition
  • Heterojunction structures in III-V compound semiconductors


Awards and Distinctions: 
  • 2012, Alexander von Humboldt Research Award
  • 2007, IEEE Edison Medal
  • 2006, Elected Foreign Associate Member, A. F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute, Academy of Sciences of Russia, St. Petersburg, Russia
  • 2004, The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS) John Bardeen Award
  • 2004, Distinguished Alumnus Award, College of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2002, National Medal of Technology Laureate
  • 2001, Licensed Professional Engineer, State of Texas
  • 2000, Fellow of the Optical Society of America
  • 1997, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Alumni Loyalty Award
  • 1995, IEEE/LEOS Award for Engineering Achievement
  • 1989, Elected to National Academy of Engineering
  • 1987, Distinguished Alumnus Award, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 1986, Young Scientist Award of the Gallium Arsenide and Related Compounds Conference
  • 1986, Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
  • 1986, Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff, AT&T Bell Laboratories
  • 1985, IEEE Morris N. Liebmann Memorial Award


  • Faculty Member, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Director, Center for Compound Semiconductors
  • Affiliate Faculty Member, Georgia Electrical Design Center

google-scholar_0.pngPubmed logo.png

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1973
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1971
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1970