Connect with IEN

Dennis W. Hess

Professor and Thomas C. DeLoach, Jr. Chair, School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Dennis Hess

Dr. Dennis Hess received his B.S. in 1968 from Albright College, and his M.S. and Ph.D. from Lehigh University in 1970 and 1973 respectively. Dr. Hess is the Thomas C. DeLoach, Jr. Chair and Director of Georgia Tech’s NSF Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC) for New Electronic Materials.

Dr. Hess also directs the Hess research group, which investigates thin film and coating processes as related to integrated circuits, electronic materials, sensors, and surface modification of materials. Fundamental electrical, optical, mechanical and chemical properties of the films are explored in order to devise unique film materials and processing sequences relevant to microelectronic device fabrication and to value-added products including metals, polymers, paper, and paperboard products. Various methods for the deposition, removal, and characterization of the thin films are being explored in an effort to develop novel processes and materials. Specific processes of interest for film and coating applications include spin-casting, plasma-assisted deposition, supercritical, subcritical and atmospheric pressure fluids for surface cleaning and modification, atomic layer deposition, and chemical vapor deposition.

Research Areas of Interest:

  • Plasma processing
  • Supercritical, subcritical, and atmospheric pressure fluids for surface cleaning
  • Superhydrophobic, hydrophobic, and hydrophilic film formation approaches
  • Graphene


Awards and Distinctions: 
  • Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (2002), American Chemical Society (2013), American Institute of Chemical Engineers (1998), Electrochemical Society (1993)
  • 1993, Callinan Award from Dielectric Sciences & Technology Division, Electrochemical Society
  • 1999, C.M.A. Stine Award, Materials Engineering & Science Division, American Institute of Chemical Engineers
  • 2005, Solid State Science & Technology Award, Electrochemical Society
  • 2012-present, Editor-in-Chief for Journal of Solid State Science and Technology, and for ECS Solid State Letters, published by The Electrochemical Society
  • 2012, Edward Goodrich Acheson Award by the Electrochemical Society (ECS)
  • 2014, Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching from The Electrochemical Society


  • Director, Materials Research Science & Engineering Center, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Director, Hess Research Group
  • Collaborator, Epitaxial Graphene Lab

google-scholar_0.pngPubmed logo.png

Lehigh University, 1973
Lehigh University, 1970
Albright College, 1968