Connect with IEN

Younan Xia

Professor, Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering; Brock Family Chair; GRA Eminent Scholar in Nanomedicine

Younan Xia

Professor Xia is the Brock Family Chair and Georgia Research Alliance (GRA) Eminent Scholar in Nanomedicine in the Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory University, with joint appointments in School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, and School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.

Professor Xia received his Ph.D. degree in Physical Chemistry from Harvard University (with Professor George M. Whitesides) in 1996, his M.S. degree in Inorganic Chemistry from University of Pennsylvania (with the late Professor Alan G. MacDiarmid, a Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 2000) in 1993, and his B.S. degree in Chemical Physics from the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) in 1987. He came to the United States of America in 1991.

Professor Xia has received a number of prestigious awards, including the 2013 Nano Today Award, the ACS National Award in the Chemistry of Materials (2013), Fred Kavli Distinguished Lecture in Nanoscience at the MRS Spring Meeting (2013), AIMBE Fellow (2011), MRS Fellow (2009 ), NIH Director's Pioneer Award (2006), ACS Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award (2005), Camille Dreyfus Teacher Scholar (2002), David and Lucile Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering (2000), Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow (2000), NSF Early Career Development Award (2000), ACS Victor K. LaMer Award (1999), and Camille and Henry Dreyfus New Faculty Award (1997).

Professor Xia has been an Associate Editor of Nano Letters since 2002, and has served on the Advisory Boards of Particle & Particle Systems Characterization (2013-), Chemical Physics Letters (2013-), Chemistry: A European Journal (2013-), Chinese Journal of Chemistry (2013-), Angewandte Chemie International Edition (2011-), Advanced Healthcare Materials (2011-, inaugural chairman of the advisory board), Accounts of Chemical Research (2010-), Cancer Nanotechnology (2010-), Chemistry: An Asian Journal (2010-), Journal of Biomedical Optics (2010-), Nano Research (2009-), Science of Advanced Materials (2009-), Nano Today (2006-), Chemistry of Materials (2005-2007), Langmuir (2005-2010, 2013-2015), International Journal of Nanotechnology (2004-), and Advanced Functional Materials (2001-). He has also served as a Guest Editor of special issues for Advanced Materials (six times), Advanced Functional Materials (one time), MRS Bulletin (one time), and Accounts of Chemical Research (one time).

Research Areas of Interest:

  • Nanomedicine, including targeted delivery and controlled release, molecular imaging for early cancer diagnosis, and effective treatment of cancer and other diseases<
  • Regenerative medicine, including bio-inspired design of novel scaffolds with well-controlled properties for manipulating stem cell differentiation, neurite outgrowth, tissue regeneration, and vascularization in a large tissue construct<
  • Structure-property relationship of shape-controlled nanocrystals, including localized surface plasmon resonance (LSPR), surface-enhanced Raman scattering (SERS), light harvesting, local field enhancement, plasmonic waveguiding, and metamaterials
  • Catalysis, including surface capping, facet-dependent catalytic activity and selectivity, sinter resistance, as well as more active and robust catalysts for proton-exchange membrane fuel cells
Awards and Distinctions: 
  • 2011, Fellow of American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE)
  • 2010, Top 100 Chemists and Materials Scientists in the world for the period of 2000-2010
  • 2009, Top 10 Chemists in the world for the period of 1999-2009
  • 2009, Fellow of Materials Research Society (MRS)
  • 2006, NIH Director's Pioneer Award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • 2005, Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award from the American Chemical Society (ACS)
  • 2000, Fellow in Science and Engineering of the David and Lucile Packard Foundation
  • 2000, Research Fellow of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
  • 1999, Faculty Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF)
  • 1999, Victor K. LaMer Award from the American Chemical Society (ACS)
  • 1997, New Faculty Award from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation


  • Director, Xia Group at Georgia Tech
  • Faculty, Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Faculty, School of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Faculty, School of Chemical & Biochemical Engineering

Pubmed logo.png

Harvard University, 1996
University of Pennsylvania, 1993
University of Science and Technology of China, 1982